Dallas rocks.

I’m nearly all but written out, so I’ll be brief and even dispel with niceties :-). This post was prompted by the recent return of Dallas on TV. It was huge back in the day. I recall it playing in the background when I was a kid, but I never actually got into it. Twenty years later, I’m hooked.

It’s like I’m watching it with fresh eyes. Sure, a few names and scenarios ring certain bells. Who shot JR, Bobby emerging from the shower having dreamt a whole chunk away (or something along those lines) sound vaguely familiar. Having a cult following and garnering multi Emmy Awards in its heyday, it wasn’t long before some enterprising studio executive decided to breathe new life into it. And it is proving to be an astute decision so far. Kudos to Cynthia Cidre who created this new series – she certainly knows how to grip and engage the viewer from the outset.

I watched the first episode with thinly veiled scepticism. After all, wasn’t it supposed to be a trip down memory lane for those die-hard Dallas fans of yore? What would the new series hold for me, a ‘pseudo-Dallas-virgin’? Spurred on by the infectious enthusiasm of a friend, I decided to give it whirl. And boy am I glad I did (thank you for the heads up D).

The first few episodes set the scene nicely, with the offspring of two feuding brothers (Bobby and JR) carrying on the family tradition of destructive warring. Christopher and John Ross (played by Jesse Metcalfe and Josh Henderson respectively) are perfectly cast as leads of the new generation who also happen to be young, hot, thirty-somethings who are raring to go and prove themselves. Against the background of Southfork (which has apparently always been a contentious matter for Bobby and JR), the story slowly unfolded with numerous threads including illegal oil drilling, terminal illness, mistaken jilting as a by product of hacked emails amongst a few meaty subplots. Having two heavyweights Patrick Duffy and Larry Hagman was another shrewd move on part of the producers and a definite asset to the cast.

This soap is cheesier than a plate of cheddar. And I love it. It’s light, frothy and doesn’t really require thinking; perfect for the mid-week zoning out session. Dallas has been successfully resurrected and is most definitely a force to be reckoned with. From now on, I’ll be dedicating a post to each weekly episode once it has aired. Are you a Dallas fan? I’d love to hear what you think of the new series.

Mucho love,

Ax

16 thoughts on “Dallas rocks.

  1. RottieGirl says:

    enjoyed your review of Dallas. Just a couple of things 1. it’s a continuation, not a reboot. I don’t know why everybody keeps calling it a reboot. Cynthia Cidre has said that many times. 2. The younger cast members are all in their early 30’s.

    I love the show. It’s really well done.

    Like

    • ambertesia says:

      Hello RottieGirl,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post, there will be a lot more to come! Also merci beaucoup for the clarification (re reboot & age of the actors), I’ve amended the post accordingly. Which is your favourite character?
      Ax

      Like

      • ambertesia says:

        Hey RottieGirl,

        JR is my favourite character EVER! And agree with you re: bad boys, there’s something about them that makes them so darn attractive :-). I love JR’s machinations and John Ross is certainly proving to be a chip off the old block – let the fireworks commence! Actually, I’ve just had a thought whilst writing, about dedicating a post to the ‘ultimate Dallas bad boy’. Hmm, watch this space. I love connecting with fellow Dallas fans, so thank your for your time in passing by and commenting. have a lovely weekend chick!

        Ax

        Like

  2. Roy Prince says:

    Right, it is a continuation. Like Patrick Duffy said on Jay Leno, it’s season 15. I thought the show was great. I was there in the beginning (1978) watching the 1st episode on a black & white TV. Dallas was the only long running show I watched from beginning to end without missing an episode. Love the show & hope for many seasons to come.

    Like

    • ambertesia says:

      Hello Roy,
      Thank you for commenting! I’m new to Dallas and I’m certainly no authority, so I’m finding your thoughts and comments really cool and interesting! Also great that you love the show – it is pretty slick, isn’t it? My Wednesdays have just gotten a whole lot more interesting!
      A:-)

      Like

      • Roy Prince says:

        Just in case you haven’t heard yet they changed days. Season 2 (16) starts Monday January 28th. Also, go on Facebook & join Dallas – Countdown to the Next Season. It’s really great. Lots of comments & info.

        Like

      • ambertesia says:

        Ah, thank you for the heads up Roy! I’ve just liked the Facebook page, which looks really comprehensive. Who is your fave character? 🙂

        Like

      • Roy Prince says:

        My favorites are J.R. & Bobby. When I watched the first episode I was 9 years old and I didn’t know anything about the show. But I was amazed that there were a few stars in there that I liked. Larry (I Dream of Jeanie) Hagman, Patrick (Man from Atlantis) Duffy, Jim (El Dorado) Davis, David (Mad Hatter from Batman) Wayne, Steve (Starsky & Hutch) Kanaly. So figured yep I’m watching this. And to this day never stopped. It’s one of my favorite shows and I’m glad it’s back.

        Like

      • ambertesia says:

        Great call with favourite characters, I love JR and Bobby too (although I prefer JR). 🙂 You’re right, it is a pretty awesome cast. The younger members are cool too, although I think they will get better with age (cough, Jesse Metcalfe, cough). I love the fact that it appeals to such a diverse demographic and remains ageless. I love reading your comments, they’re interesting and incisive. Have a great weekend Roy. Ax

        Like

      • Roy Prince says:

        Thanks, you too.
        The Dallas season 1 DVD comes out January 8th. That’s Elvis’s birthday. They’ll have to throw in a Elvis song in season 2 like they did with Johnny Cash in season 1.

        Like

      • ambertesia says:

        The 8th of Jan is now in my diary, thank you Roy :-). I think it’s a nice touch when producers ‘get topical’ and acknowledge landmarks / watershed moments (your example of Johnny Cash springs to mind). It’s playful and lends an added strand of realism. PS I love learning more about the soap and am currently torn between watching the original series to swot up, but I’m enjoying the ride too much! Who knows, I may succumb and watch the original next year, we shall see. Laters Roy :-),
        Ax

        Like

    • ambertesia says:

      Thank you for your kind words Jenny Sue! I’m really getting stuck into my Dallas write-ups – there is so much fodder that I’m having to be really strict with the amount I write for these posts (I prefer shorter, punchier posts).
      How long have you been a Dallas fan for? And who is your favourite character? Are you Team JR, Team Bobby (or indeed any other character that you love)? Expect more meaty issues discussed (including Ultimate Dallas Bad Boy). Thank you for stopping by, have a great weekend Jenny Sue!
      Ax

      Like

  3. I have watched Dallas my entire life. My parents were big fans (Victoria Principal, who payed Pamela Barnes Ewing, is actually a cousin of my mom’s), and I have seen every single episode, and the TV movies. I now have every season on dvd. I love the continuation series. It’s every bit as good as the original Dallas. Great to see J.R., Sue Ellen, Bobby, and Cliff back, and I love Bobby’s wife Ann (who is perfectly cast), as well as the younger cast. I just wish that we could see more of Ray and Lucy. Would also be great if Pam came back. Great plot twist for Bobby and Ann.

    Like

    • ambertesia says:

      Hey John,
      I’m getting loads of messages from people who are long-time Dallas fans, it’s great to meet you! Victoria Principal rings bells – she was Bobby’s ex-wife, right? My mom too was a fan of the original series, but I have yet to convince her of the latest series. I’m getting quite a few comments querying the absence of Victoria Principal. It would definitely put Bobby in a quandary (I don’t know much about Bobby’s history, but I imagine it to be chequered)! Note to Cynthia Cidre – maybe write Pam in (if you haven’t done so already)..? Maybe it could be a Pam – Ann Face-off? Thank you for stopping by John :-).
      Ax

      Like

Come on, leave a reply (you know you want to)...

